Summer Bucket List

I don’t know about you guys, but every year I try to formulate some form of a bucket list for the summer. Normally, as suspected, they don’t work out very well. Last summer my goal was to make my way through all of the Harry Potter books, get really fit and work out every day, and tidy up the garden in the backyard. I read four of the Harry Potter books, weeded out three pots and worked out for maybe a week. I am not the best at developing and keeping new and healthy habits. However, I think that I, among many others, always have good intentions about what we would like to do with the summer break that we are given.

This year, I would like to create a more realistic list of things I would like to accomplish this summer before I leave for Germany. 

1. Go to Seattle and eat Döner.

For those of you who have no idea what Döner is, it is a German-Turkish food that is closely related to a Gyro. It is a flatbread that has slices of lamb topped with goat cheese, pepperocinis, red cabbage, cucumbers, tomatoes, onions and drizzled tsatsiki sauce. It sounds and looks disgusting, but it is absolutely the best food I have ever had in my life. To my delight, I get to mark this off my list already because as a small early birthday celebration to myself, I got to drive up with my best friend, Sami, and meet up with a friend who I met in my first year of ID. He’s German and loves it just as much as I do, so he tagged along to join us! The döner we ate in Seattle is a little different than what I am used to. It had beef and lamb mixed together and had cilantro and garlic sauce. It was still really good, just different. After we ate, we walked around downtown Seattle and went to Pikes Place and walked down to the pier and also to the Space Needle. After touring around Seattle, we dove to downtown Kirkland and saw cool, expensive houses and little shops. Philip took us to an ice cream shop where he does a prayer walk. What that means is that he goes there to pray over the owner and employees and forms a relationship with them. The owner was so nice! And the ice cream was so delicious on the hot day that it was. We took our ice cream and sat down on the docks with our feet in the water and enjoyed the beautiful view with the gentle breeze blowing. It is easy to say that the three of us had a wonderful day. 🙂IMG_3200IMG_3150

2. Go to the beach as many times as possible.

So far, I’ve got one trip down. But that was in Lincoln City, and I need to make sure that I make it to Cannon Beach and Seaside, too. Cannon Beach is my all time favorite spots on the Oregon Coast, and the coast is one of my favorite spots in the world.

3. Go to Columbia Gorge and hike a lot of trails.

After the Oregon coast, the Columbia Gorge is my second favorite place on earth. I have plenty of sweet memories there of summer camps, hiking and drive-arounds. I plan to have many more this summer with good ‘ol Herbert, my ’75 orange Vovlo.

4. Share memories with all of my friends.

There are a lot of people I haven’t been able to see or speak to these past two years, and I would love to hang out with people and hear about their lives before I set out for my own.

 

So, friends, with that, let me know what your summer bucket list is for this summer! I would love to hear what you guys plan on doing.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 thoughts on “Summer Bucket List

  1. kallisuks says:

    Lets do it all!

Leave a comment