Saturday Chat- July 26

IMG_3359I know it hasn’t exactly been a week since my last post, however I am sticking to this!

Thoughts: About a week ago, I saw a post on Facebook from the Foursquare President, Glenn Burris. He wrote, “There are two pains in life. The pain of discipline or the pain of regret. Choose discipline.” Ever since reading this, there has not been a day go by where I have not thought about this sentence. It is easy to read, but hard to swallow. I have been facing this a lot this past week and thinking about how much my flesh wants certain things that my spirit has been almost deprived of these past two years. I have been having to face my old habits and struggles head on and have been trying to rethink some things about situations I put myself into and how I want to react. Maybe some of you guys need to hear this and think about some things in your life. Maybe it’s with a diet, or with some friends. It could be anything, but please, let’s choose discipline because it’s worth it.

What’s New: Nothing. Honestly. Try again next week.

Blessing: My German Mama, Ulli, texted me the other day because, as it turns out, there is a possibility of a job for me in Bühl! If it works out, who knows. It also depends on if I will have time or if the visa will allow for it! I am really hoping that it works out. It would be a job at a Hotel with a bar/restaurant as possibly a waitress. It would be a great way for me to meet the people of the town and I think it’s also a great ministry! Being a light to those in a place where they feel most comfortable. Meeting them where they are at 🙂

Prayer: I have been feeling very anxious lately. The closer it gets to August, the more I feel like I don’t have everything together. I am scared about visa stuff. I can’t get it until I am there, which is a little annoying. I am hoping I have everything I need in order to enter, and I am hoping I don’t need anything translated. I just hope I find the solution to these things soon so I have enough time to get them done. When I went on my exchange, those things were taken care for me by Rotary. Since I no longer have that luxury, it makes me a little nervous. And it doesn’t help that the lazy bug has gotten me this past week. Which is exactly the reason as to why there is nothing new. I haven’t really done anything this past week. Which has been nice, but it is also boring and very unproductive.

Have A Listen: This is my favorite singer of all time. There will never come a day where I do not love this man and his music. His name is Johnny Flynn. He is not well-known and only does tours in the UK which makes me very sad. However, I am hoping that one day, I will be able to see him perform live 🙂

Tagged , , , , , , , , , ,

3 thoughts on “Saturday Chat- July 26

  1. Ulli says:

    Hallo liebe Sara, was macht der Job, da du ja jetzt eine Woche gefaulenzt hast, bist du ausgeruht um die Dinge “anzugehen”, du bist immer in unseren Gedanken, LG von deiner deutschen Mama Ulli ❤

  2. Judy says:

    Okay, so I wrote this really long post & lost it before I sent it!!! Anyway in response to what you wrote about Glenn Burris comments on the pain of discipline & the pain of regret- amazing! So true ! I found some these scriptures that I really like, among so many, that speak to what you wrote. Proverbs 18:1,2. &10; Proverbs 15:28-33. I think about how when we make a disciplined choice that we sometimes experience rejection, but Jesus experienced so much more than my tiny amount, when He was betrayed & left alone in the Garden by His closest friends. Even when we make a disciplined choice the peace we have in the pain is worth it. The opposite effect is what I saw in Proverbs 18:1&2.
    I love the part in 15:30 about our eyes & fat on our bones! Who but God could reassure us that it’s for our benefit to have a clear conscience-soul- so our eyes -the window to our souls- can be bright- a good countenance? That is how shines Jesus, in us, to others. And I think good news causes an atmosphere of good fellowship to occur which in turn can mean a good healthy meal or at least the chance to make a good choice to eat & take in nourishment which affects our outlook on life too! I’ve experienced that & if God says fat on my bones is a good thing, then I know He can help me make a disciplined choice to eat right & in moderation.
    Okay, sermon done! Love you Sara!

  3. Judy says:

    Here’s a good pix of the pain of regret for you- Proverbs 29:1-
    “A man who hardens his neck after much reproof will suddenly be broken beyond remedy.”
    Ouch.

Leave a comment